Felt and Realized Pressures

There’s an immense sense of pressure I feel, and others feel that I have conversed with these past few months. The pressure is in varied degrees and also forms. I will list them.

The pressure from a calling

My brother and I discussed this “pressure” to be like a calling, a desire we have that we must fulfill. We share similar ideas; our conversations almost always reflect our passions for social change, a story he wishes to tell through film, or an image I wish to represent visually. So this pressure is felt in our chests and lingers on our minds, its building up and we feel a need to act now. Making moves towards that here, as I write this post.

The pressure of desire

I discussed with my friend the sense of pressure she feels to “find someone”, a partner she can share her life with, as if someone else was instating she must do so quickly. I suppose, her ideal reality is calling her to this, that the feeling is probably what she most desires, and therefore seeks to fill. Her and I, being in true sense, extreme opposites of one another, I can’t say I feel the same pressure, and yet I do feel it at the same time. There’s a constant pull between personal responsibility and personal comfort.

The pressure of change

Yet with another, we discussed the buildup in the air, like change was in it. The current smell of dissatisfaction in the normal grid–people realizing there are actually margins, and that we can use them–we can write or draw or sing to them, even spill our coffee, and how exciting that is to do. The grid is beautiful in a way, too, but we shouldn’t be succumbed to it. It has its flaws, fundamental ones. The problem with the grid is it doesn’t allow things to grow naturally, its a force and a wall, a system–it gets in the way of the drawings and spilled coffee to be represented beautifully. So systems use a lot of resources by using a lot of processes. And we’re in a big mess, we have big grids everywhere that use and abuse, we’re really trapping people and we have been as far as history examines, but I don’t think this is an excuse. If you feel this pressure then surely make use of it. We can make better use of the grid.

Felt and Realized Pressures

Leave a comment